Better at one than the other

I’ve realized I’m way more committed to my blog than my vlog. I suppose that’s because I know what I want out of my blog but I’m really sort of in a state of limbo with the vlog.

When I first started it I thought, ‘hey, this could be my replacement! Video instead of typing.’ Yeah. That didn’t go so well. I’ve looked at other professional vloggers and think about how damn easy that looks. Then again I spend approximately zero minutes editing my videos. What you see is what you get. I don’t do the jump cuts which are very, very popular in the YouTube vlogging scene. I suppose I could but that would require me to upload videos to my computer before uploading them to YouTube which just isn’t as easy as clicking ‘upload video’ on the phone.

I guess, as with a lot of things, I just take the easy route because I don’t expect much from it. Honestly, I started it as a bad way to keep in touch with people I haven’t seen in over a decade. Mainly my family. Like, ‘hey guys, I’m still alive, here’s some video evidence!’ I turned it, mostly, into me trying new and exciting beer. Which is cool because it’s something I like doing.

Tangent thought: When I was growing up I was a really big fan of the TV show Quantum Leap, so much so I borrowed a big, fat physics book from the local library and didn’t understand a damn thing in it. Anyway, the main character once did an ‘experiment’ where he progressively got drunker and drunker and documented the effects in a notepad to the point where he couldn’t read it near the end. I’ve always wanted to do that. I’m not sure why, but I thought it would be fun. Yes, science is fun. I could do it now because I’m two beers in (Fat Tire for the win) but that’s only two beers and I’ve only got one more after that. Would make for an uneventful and purposeless experiment.

Back to the vlog, or lack thereof. I think my longest streak was something like 10 months without uploading. Something I genuinely felt bad about because I know there’s like, 6 people that will watch them when I put them out. I tried some video game streaming, which was a pretty typical experience of what I do when I game but I was told it was boring because there was no commentary. So I added commentary but was then informed of how obnoxious I am in real life when I do commentate. So I don’t do that so much anymore.

So, here I am, feeling bad about not blogging and thinking about how bad I feel when I don’t vlog. To be fair to myself I really only blog when I’ve got something to talk about or get off my chest and I only seem to vlog anymore when I’ve got a new beer to drink. I sometimes cheat on that though by drinking new beer without recording it. Mostly because I’m pretty sure that most of those 6 people that do watch it don’t really care. At least I don’t think they do. Either way. I’m trying to let everyone know I’m still alive and I still think of them, sometimes that just comes in the form of ‘likes’ on their Facebook statuses throughout the week.

Maybe I’m too hard on myself. Maybe I’m just not hard enough. So…like and subscribe and leave a comment in the comments section below! No, don’t do that…I hate when people tell me to do that.

Leave a Reply

