What have I done to myself?

Another quick (and maybe short) blog.

I think I’ve cut my Facebook time down to under 30-45 minutes per day. I could also just be patting myself on the back and not counting an hour or something. So…we’ll call it an hour, I really don’t think I spend much more than that on Facebook per day. Why? Am I just outgrowing it? No, I’m almost certain that it’s politically motivated.

Now, before you leave some smart-ass comment about how I can trim my feed to whatever it is I want it to be I’m going to stop you because I’m aware of that. It’s politics. Not to speak disparagingly of all my cool, new political friends but my Facebook feed pushes me towards a state of perpetual and constant outrage. Daily.

Maybe I should be constantly and perpetually outraged. Maybe I should be out in the street right now screaming into the dark and cold void. Maybe I should be out there pounding sand and yelling at brick walls. It’s not like there’s not enough in this state, let alone this country or this planet to be angry and aghast about. I’m sure if you think hard enough you’ll know what I’m talking about. Maybe I could even throw you some examples if you ask nicely…like, super nicely.

Then again I know it’s not healthy physically or emotionally to push yourself into fits of rage that last for weeks and months. Ask anyone very close to me and they’ll tell you I’m pretty chill. I’m stoic. Cool, calm and collected. It could just be my nature to want to not dwell on these terrible and frustrating things for longer than a few minutes at a time. Lisa will regularly ask me about a topic or a specific news event with an incredulous look on her face and ask me if I’d heard about it or if it’s even remotely true. I tell her it is and that all we can do is work towards the future and not fret over every cockamamie thing that happens. Meanwhile I’m being worn down by it, absolutely sick and tired of shitty things happening all around me but nowhere near me at the same time.

I know, I know. I’m just dwelling on it too much. I’m not sure I am, I’m just venting here. I’m not on the verge of a total breakdown and I’m not seconds away from a panic attack. It’s just something I’ve noticed lately. Less Facebook time.

That’s all I’ve got though. For now. Stay chill folks, despite what your Facebook feed tells you.

3 thoughts on “What have I done to myself?

  1. I completely underestimated a lot of things about the political climate of this country. How many of us would willingly fall for the vocal stylings of a quasi fascist wannabe strongman con artist, how many self-professed american patriots would just not give a single fuck about having a Russian asset in the oval office, how much racism still lingered. But you can’t be the crazy man screaming on the street corner, even if you are right. Really the only way anything gets better is to essentially keep doing what you already do, working at the state and local level. Long Arc of the moral universe and all that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

